Directory of Standards

On this page you will find a list of Standards applicable to compliance management at UNE.  Clicking on the name of a standard will take you to more information, where a link is provided.  This may be an external website or document.

Return to TopN (View Documents A-Z)

  • National Quality Standards (Cth) - NoneThe National Quality Standard (NQS) is a key aspect of the National Quality Framework (NQF) and sets a high, national benchmark for early childhood education and care, and outside school hours care services in Australia.
  • National standards for ELICOS providers and courses (ELICOS Standards) (Cth) - Level 1The National standards for ELICOS providers and courses (ELICOS Standards) are used as guidelines for determining whether providers should be accepted for registration on the Commonwealth Register of Institutions and Courses for Overseas Students (CRICOS) under the ESOS legislative framework. The ELICOS (English Language Intensive Courses for Overseas Students) framework relates to international students who will be studying English in Australia as part of an intensive program ('intensive' means a minimum of 20 hours of scheduled classes involving face-to-face contact hours of English language instruction.
    ELICOS standards are protected through legislative instruments which ensure certain requirements are met before English language providers are registered and that they maintain these requirements throughout the course of their registration. This approach provides confidence for all stakeholders involved in the provision of English language instruction.
    The ELICOS Standards detail what is required from ELICOS providers and the requirement that they maintain the registration Standards so they can continue to be registered as a CRICOS provider.
  • NSW State Records - Public Health Services: Patient/Client records (GDA17) (NSW) - Level 3This document outlines the general retention and disposal authority covering records documenting the provision of health care to patients and clients of the public health system.
  • NSW State Records - Standard on records management (NSW) - Level 1This standard establishes the requirements for effective records and information management. It is designed to assist public offices discharge their obligations under Part 2 'Records management responsibilities' and Part 3 'Protection of State records' of the State Records Act 1998.
  • NSW State Records - Standard on the physical storage of state records (NSW) - Level 1This Standard sets out the minimum compliance requirements for the storage of those State records which have a physical format, including:
    - paper files and documents
    - volumes and registers
    - maps, plans, charts and drawings
    - photographic media including photographic prints and negatives, film, microforms, and x-rays
    - magnetic media such as digital tape, video and audio cassettes, and
    - optical media such as CDs and DVDs.

    This standard does not cover the storage of digital records in online systems or network servers.

    The principles of this standard require NSW public offices to make decisions and take action to ensure that the storage of records is effective in protecting records from deterioration and are cost efficient. The principles are:
    - Authorisation
    - Location and buildings
    - Environmental controls
    - Shelving and packaging
    - Maintenance
    - Identification and control, and
    - Security.
    Each of these principles is supported by mandatory compliance requirements. Compliance with this standard will be monitored by State Records and reported on in its Annual Report.
    There is a compliance timetable indicating how the requirements of the standard are to be implemented and by what dates. Public offices will be advised in advance of any compliance monitoring activities.
  • NSW State Records - Video/visual surveillance records (GDA8) (NSW) - Level 2This general retention and disposal authority covers video/visual surveillance records created by NSW public offices, and authorises the destruction of video/visual surveillance recordings that aren't of evidentiary value and are not required as part of an investigation or criminal or court proceedings. Where recordings become part of the evidential record of an investigation or criminal or court proceedings, these records should be disposed of in accordance with the requirements for that class of record.

    Video/visual surveillance generally involves the use of photographic, video or electronic recording equipment for the surveillance or monitoring of a particular scene, location or activity. Examples of its use include the installation of closed circuit television (CCTV) operations for the monitoring of property, office foyers or workplace areas.

    Surveillance may be overt or covert. Overt visual surveillance generally involves the use of unconcealed surveillance equipment, often signposted to draw attention to the fact that an individual is under observation. Covert visual surveillance involves the use of hidden or concealed recording equipment without agreement or notification of the fact that an individual's activities are being recorded. The conduct of covert visual surveillance in the workplace is subject to the provisions of the Workplace Surveillance Act 2005 (NSW).