A-Z Register

UNE Compliance Register

This Register lists the compliance drivers (Commonwealth, NSW and international laws and other statutory instruments, and industry, community and ethical standards and codes) that impact on University activities and operations, to the extent that the University has some obligation of compliance or accountability.

The currently documented drivers are listed below in alpha-order by title.  Click on the title to access a detailed overview.  You can also search the register to find all of the compliance drivers and obligations relevant to your activities and the people who can help with your compliance responsibilities.

Note: the Register is being continually enhanced, with drivers and obligations added and amended as required.

Return to TopT (View Documents A-Z)

  • Tertiary Education Quality and Standards Agency Act 2011 (Cth) - Level 1An Act to regulate higher education. The Tertiary Education Quality and Standards Agency (TEQSA) regulates and assures the quality of Australia's large, diverse and complex higher education sector. The University must undergo reregistration every 7 years. This is via evaluation of the performance of the University against the Higher Education Standards Framework.

    The Standards Framework comprises five domains: Provider Standards, Qualification Standards, Teaching and Learning Standards, Information Standards and Research Standards. The Provider Standards and Qualifications Standards are collectively the Threshold Standards which all providers must meet in order to enter and remain within Australia's higher education system

  • Threatened Species Conservation Act 1995 (NSW) - Level 4This Act provides for the conservation of threatened species, populations and ecological communities of animals and plants (although the Act does not generally apply to fish). The Act sets out a number of specific objects relating to the conservation of biological diversity and the promotion of ecologically sustainable development. In addition, the Act sets up a Scientific Committee, whose functions include:
    - identifying and classifying (as endangered, critically endangered or vulnerable) the species, populations and ecological communities with which it is concerned, and
    - identifying key threatening processes that may threaten the survival of those species, populations and ecological communities.

    Identified species, populations, ecological communities and key threatening processes are listed in the Schedules to the Act. Provision is made for the preparation of recovery plans for listed threatened species, populations and ecological communities and threat abatement plans to manage key threatening processes.

    The Act also provides for the declaration and mapping of habitats that are critical to the survival of those identified threatened species, populations and ecological communities that are classified as endangered (critical habitats).

    Offences for breaches of this Act (for example, the harming of threatened species, populations or ecological communities (being animals); the picking of threatened species, populations and ecological communities (being plants); damaging critical habitat etc.) are contained in the National Parks and Wildlife Act 1974.

    Part 7AA of the Act establishes a system for biodiversity certification. Biodiversity certification involves an assessment of the biodiversity values of land so that areas that are of high conservation value and areas appropriate for development can be identified and remove the need for site-by-site threatened species assessment.

    Part 7A of the Act establishes the Biodiversity Banking and Offsets Scheme. The Scheme enables:
    - establishment of biodiversity banking sites;
    - creation of biodiversity credits;
    - trading of biodiversity credits; and
    - use of credits to offset development otherwise impacting on biodiversity values.

    Relevance for UNE - do we have identified threatened species?