Compliance Overview

Compliance Framework
Compliance Driver Autonomous Sanctions Act 2011 (Cth)
Classification Level 2
University-wide requirement. Lower impacts.
Associated Legislation
Associated Standards None
Associated Codes None
Associated Information None
Return to Top Administrative Information
Administrative Body Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade
Administrative Name Director Sanctions Section
Administrative Address Physical Address
R G Casey Building
John McEwan Cresent
Barton ACT
Australia, 0221
Administrative Phone 02 6261 1111
Administrative Email
Administrative Website
Return to Top General Introduction
VC Compliance Delegate Heiko Daniel, Deputy Vice-Chancellor Research
Compliance Coordinator Eliza Kent, Deputy Director Graduate Studies
Business Units Impacted
  • Academic Quality Directorate
  • Advancement, Communications, and Events Directorate
  • Animal Genetics and Breeding Unit
  • Audit and Risk Directorate
  • Australian Business Research Institute
  • Business Intelligence and Data Governance
  • Centre for Agriculture and Law
  • Centre for Applied Research in Social Science
  • Centre for Local Government
  • Corporate Communications Unit
  • Corporate Planning and Analytics
  • English Language Centre
  • Facilities Management Service Directorate
  • Faculty of Humanities, Arts, Social Sciences and Education
  • Faculty of Medicine and Health
  • Faculty of Science, Agriculture, Business and Law
  • Financial Performance and Analytical Services
  • Heritage Centre
  • Heritage Futures Research Centre
  • Human Resource Services Directorate
  • Information Technology Directorate
  • Institute for Rural Futures
  • Learning and Teaching Transformation
  • Legal Office
  • Office of the Chief Financial Officer
  • Office of the Chief Legal and Governance Officer
  • Office of the Chief Operating Officer
  • Office of the Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Research)
  • Office of the Pro Vice-Chancellor (Academic Innovation)
  • Office of the Pro Vice-Chancellor (External Relations)
  • Office of the Provost and Deputy Vice-Chancellor
  • Office of the Vice-Chancellor and CEO
  • Oorala Aboriginal Centre
  • Records Management Office
  • Records, Policy and Governance Unit
  • Research Services
  • Rural Properties
  • School of Education
  • School of Environmental and Rural Science
  • School of Health
  • School of Humanities, Arts and Social Sciences
  • School of Law
  • School of Psychology
  • School of Rural Medicine
  • School of Science and Technology
  • Strategic Procurement
  • Student Grievance Unit
  • Student Success
  • The National Centre of Science, Information and Communication Technology, and Mathematics Education
  • UNE Business School
  • UNE Council
  • UNE Foundation charitable trust
  • UNE Foundation Limited
  • UNE International
  • UNE Life
  • UNE Marketing
  • UNE Medical Centre
  • UNE Partnerships Pty Ltd
  • UNE Residential System
  • UNE Sydney
  • University Library
  • University Secretariat
  • Yarm Gwanga
Overview Australia has two types of sanctions regimes:
1. The United Nations Security Council (UNSC) sanctions regimes which are primarily implemented under the Charter of the United Nations Act 1945 and its regulations. There is a separate set of regulations for each UNSC sanctions regime.
2. Australian autonomous sanction regimes are primarily carried out under the Autonomous Sanctions Act 2011 and its regulation. These autonomous sanctions regimes are implemented as a matter of foreign policy, and may supplement UNSC sanctions regimes, or be separate from them.

Australian sanction laws apply broadly, including to activities in Australia, and to overseas activities by both Australian citizens and Australian registered bodies corporate.

The legislation is relevant to the University as it targets the provision of services (e.g. technical advice, assistance or training) that the University may provide to students, affiliates or visitors from countries subject to a sanction regime.